DCMI 2023 - Sessions

The schedule is subject to updates. Please check back regularly for changes.

Monday, Nov 6, 2023

8:00 AM - 9:00 AM KST

Registration

9:00 AM - 9:30 AM KST

Welcome

Session 1

Starts at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 09:00 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 00:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 09:30 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 00:30 UTC )
Venue
Gyeongha Hall 1
Moderator
Kyong Eun Oh
Presentations
Starts at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 09:30 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 00:30 UTC )
Finishes at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 10:30 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 01:30 UTC )
Venue
Gyeongha Hall 1
Moderator
Sam Oh

10:30 AM - 11:00 AM KST

Coffee Break

30 minutes break

Starts at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 11:00 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 02:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 12:00 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 03:00 UTC )
Venue
Gyeongha Hall 1
Moderator
Sam Oh
Starts at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 12:00 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 03:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 13:00 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 04:00 UTC )
Venue
Gyeongha Hall 1
Moderator
Hussein Suleman

1:00 PM - 2:30 PM KST

Lunch

90 minutes break

Starts at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 14:30 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 05:30 UTC )
Finishes at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 16:00 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 07:00 UTC )
Venue
Room 201
Moderator
Alasdair MacDonald
Starts at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 16:00 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 07:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 17:30 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 08:30 UTC )
Venue
Room 201

5:30 PM - 6:00 PM KST

Poster Display

Session 7

Starts at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 17:30 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 08:30 UTC )
Finishes at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 18:00 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 09:00 UTC )
Venue
SKY 17

6:00 PM - 8:00 PM KST

Social Dinner

Starts at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 18:00 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 09:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Mon, Nov 6, 2023, 20:00 South Korea Time
( 06 Nov 23 11:00 UTC )
Venue
SKY 17

Tuesday, Nov 7, 2023

8:00 AM - 9:00 AM KST

Registration

Starts at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 09:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 00:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 10:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 01:00 UTC )
Venue
Gyeongha Hall 1
Moderator
Tom Baker
Presentations

10:00 AM - 10:30 AM KST

Coffee Break

30 minutes break

Starts at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 10:30 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 01:30 UTC )
Finishes at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 12:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 03:00 UTC )
Venue
Gyeongha Hall 1
Presentations
Starts at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 12:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 03:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 13:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 04:00 UTC )
Venue
Gyeongha Hall 1
Moderator
Inkyung Choi

1:00 PM - 2:30 PM KST

Lunch

90 minutes break

Starts at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 14:30 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 05:30 UTC )
Finishes at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 16:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 07:00 UTC )
Venue
Room 201
Moderator
Marie-Claude Côté
Description
Explore the intricate relationship between AI models like ChatGPT and metadata, understanding its role in training, curating, and ensuring fairness, with insights from leading experts.
Starts at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 16:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 07:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 17:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 08:00 UTC )
Venue
Room 201
Moderator
Inkyung Choi
Starts at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 16:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 07:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 17:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 08:00 UTC )
Venue
Room 203
Moderator
Jian Qin
Starts at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 16:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 07:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 17:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 08:00 UTC )
Venue
Room 209
Moderator
Gema Bueno de la Fuente
Presentations

5:00 PM - 6:00 PM KST

DCMI Community Updates

Session 15

Starts at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 17:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 08:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Tue, Nov 7, 2023, 18:00 South Korea Time
( 07 Nov 23 09:00 UTC )
Venue
Room 201
Moderator
Alasdair MacDonald

Wednesday, Nov 8, 2023

8:00 AM - 9:00 AM KST

Registration

Starts at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 09:00 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 00:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 10:00 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 01:00 UTC )
Venue
Gyeongha Hall 1
Moderator
Sam Oh

9:15 AM - 11:30 AM KST

Student Forum

Session 17

Starts at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 09:15 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 00:15 UTC )
Finishes at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 11:30 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 02:30 UTC )
Venue
KNU Library
Moderator
Ying-Hsang Liu
Description
The student forum aims at providing an opportunity for master's and doctoral students to share their experiences and exchange ideas of best practices, research in progress, and findings in areas related to metadata innovation.

10:00 AM - 10:30 AM KST

Coffee Break

30 minutes break

Starts at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 10:30 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 01:30 UTC )
Finishes at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 12:00 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 03:00 UTC )
Venue
Gyeongha Hall 1
Moderator
Jian Qin
Starts at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 12:00 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 03:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 13:00 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 04:00 UTC )
Venue
Gyeongha Hall 1
Moderator
Sam Oh
Description
Utilizing OpenAI's GPT-3.5 for in-context learning, the study achieved over 90% accuracy in annotating an Australian national dataset's subject metadata using the ANZSRC taxonomy, revealing its potential to complement human annotation.

1:00 PM - 2:30 PM KST

Lunch

90 minutes break

Starts at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 14:30 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 05:30 UTC )
Finishes at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 16:00 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 07:00 UTC )
Venue
Room 201
Starts at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 16:00 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 07:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 17:30 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 08:30 UTC )
Venue
Room 201
Moderator
Joseph Busch

5:30 PM - 5:40 PM KST

Closing ceremony

Session 22

Starts at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 17:30 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 08:30 UTC )
Finishes at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 17:40 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 08:40 UTC )
Venue
Room 201
Moderator
Sam Oh

5:40 PM - 7:00 PM KST

DCMI Governing Board Meeting

Starts at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 17:40 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 08:40 UTC )
Finishes at
Wed, Nov 8, 2023, 19:00 South Korea Time
( 08 Nov 23 10:00 UTC )
Venue
Room 201
Moderator
Alasdair MacDonald

Thursday, Nov 9, 2023

8:00 AM - 9:00 AM KST

Registration

Starts at
Thu, Nov 9, 2023, 09:00 South Korea Time
( 09 Nov 23 00:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Thu, Nov 9, 2023, 10:30 South Korea Time
( 09 Nov 23 01:30 UTC )
Venue
Room 209
Moderator
Inkyung Choi
Description
This tutorial delves into integrating Large Language Models like GPT-4 with semantic web applications, teaching participants to generate metadata-compliant queries and understand the potential and limitations of LLMs in semantic web contexts.
Starts at
Thu, Nov 9, 2023, 09:00 South Korea Time
( 09 Nov 23 00:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Thu, Nov 9, 2023, 12:30 South Korea Time
( 09 Nov 23 03:30 UTC )
Venue
Room 201
Description
This tutorial covers prompt engineering basics, from formulation to evaluation, and its application in NLP tasks and knowledge management. Attendees will practice designing prompts and discuss LLMs' pros and cons.
Presentations

9:00 AM - 8:15 PM KST

NKOS Workshop

Session 25

Starts at
Thu, Nov 9, 2023, 09:00 South Korea Time
( 09 Nov 23 00:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Thu, Nov 9, 2023, 20:15 South Korea Time
( 09 Nov 23 11:15 UTC )
Venue
Room 309
Moderator
Joseph Busch
Description

The 2023 NKOS workshop will explore the potential of Knowledge Organization Systems (KOS), such as terminologies, vocabularies, classification systems, taxonomies, thesauri, ontologies, and lexical databases, in the context of current developments and possibilities. The workshop welcomes timely presentations/demonstrations of early exploratory or speculative work, work in process, initial results, as well as more mature results selected from the following topics:

  • Quality and Governance.
  • Domain Modeling.
  • Terminology/Vocabulary Development and KOS Mapping.
  • History and Ethics.
  • Automated Indexing.
  • Machine Learning.

10:30 AM - 11:00 AM KST

Coffee Break

30 minutes break

11:00 AM - 12:30 PM KST

Tutorial 3: Metadata Maker

Session 26

Starts at
Thu, Nov 9, 2023, 11:00 South Korea Time
( 09 Nov 23 02:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Thu, Nov 9, 2023, 12:30 South Korea Time
( 09 Nov 23 03:30 UTC )
Venue
Room 209
Moderator
Inkyung Choi
Description
This tutorial introduces the Metadata Maker, an intuitive editor for creating diverse metadata formats, highlighting its evolution, design, backend adaptability, and potential workflows for enhanced library data creation and sharing.
Presentations

12:30 PM - 2:00 PM KST

Lunch

90 minutes break

2:00 PM - 6:00 PM KST

IIIF Workshop

Session 28

Starts at
Thu, Nov 9, 2023, 14:00 South Korea Time
( 09 Nov 23 05:00 UTC )
Finishes at
Thu, Nov 9, 2023, 18:00 South Korea Time
( 09 Nov 23 09:00 UTC )
Venue
Room 209
Description
This workshop introduces the International Image Interoperability Framework (IIIF) and its benefits, explaining its APIs, data models, and adoption strategies for showcasing digital assets and metadata, with hands-on exercises for newcomers.
Presentations

3:30 PM - 4:00 PM KST

Coffee Break

30 minutes break

Closing