innovation in metadata design, implementation & best practices

DCMI Localization and Internationalization Community

Meeting Report: Working Group on Dublin Core in Multiple Languages (DCML)

Location:
Second European Conference on Digital Libraries, Heraklion, Crete
Date of meeting:
1998-09-23
Convenor:
Thomas Baker (Thomas.Baker@gmd.de), Chair/Rapporteur
Version:
1998-06-28 (final, revised version)
Attendees:
Thomas Baker (Thomas.Baker@gmd.de), Chair/Rapporteur
Tetsuo Sakaguchi (saka@ulis.ac.jp)
Shigeo Sugimoto (sugimoto@ulis.ac.jp)
Eric Miller (emiller@oclc.org)
Dan Brickley (daniel.brickley@bristol.ac.uk)
Renato Iannella (renato@dstc.edu.au)
Jose Borbinha (Jose.Borbinha@inesc.pt)
Carol Peters (carol@iei.pi.cnr.it)
Hachim Haddouti (haddouti@forwiss.de)
Michael Freeston (freeston@alexandria.ucsb.edu)
Donatella Castelli (castelli@iei.pi.cnr.it)
Sarantos Kapidakis (sarantos@ics.forth.gr)
Reginald Ferber (ferber@darmstadt.gmd.de)
Stefania Biagioni (biagioni@iei.pi.cnr.it)
Catalin Varuara (cata@waic.ro)
Hariklia Tsalapata (htsalapa@csi.forth.gr)
Anne-Marie Vercoustre (Anne-Marie.Vercoustre@inria.fr)
Preben Hansen (preben@sics.se)
Ingeborg Solvberg (ingeborg.solvberg@idi.ntnu.no)
Observers:
Kim H. Veltman (Kim_Veltman@hotmail.com)
Rita Risso (rita@castagna.it)
Bill Town (billt@chemweb.com)
Amy Friedlander (afriedl@cnri.reston.va.us)
Giuseppe Romano (g.romano@cnuce.cnr.it)
Carlo Carlesi (carlesi@iei.pi.cnr.it)
Konstantin Zinchenko (kz@msu.juzinfor.ru)
Ron Daniel (rdaniel@datafusion.net)
Chris Rusbridge (c.a.rusbridge@warwick.ac.uk)
Emil Levine (e.levine@iaea.org)
Claudia di Napoli (c.dinapoli@cib.na.cnr.it)
Gabriela Ortuzar (gortuzar@uchile.cl)
Aurore Lester-Smith (auror@euronet.be)
Manolis Koukovrakis (manolhs@amalthia.libh.uoc.gr)
Theodora Stathoulia (tstath@central_ntua.gr)
Marcia Nikolaidou (mara@di.noa.gr)

Summary

This meeting took place at the Second Euroconference on Digital Libraries, ECDL2 ( http://www.csi.forth.gr/2EuroDL), in Heraklion, Crete. Because of the limited time available for this meeting, Tom Baker simply presented the position paper of the Working Group and introduced some developers of versions of Dublin Core in various languages who were present at the meeting.