innovation in metadata design, implementation & best practices

NISO/DCMI Webinar: Semantic Mashups Across Large, Heterogeneous Institutions: Experiences from the VIVO Service

A NISO/DCMI Webinar with John Fereira will be held online at 1:00PM Eastern Time on 22 May 2013 (17:00 UTC - see World Clock: http://bit.ly/157qF2S). This webinar will present the perspectives of a software developer on the practicalities of building a high-quality Semantic-Web search service on existing data maintained in dozens of formats and software platforms at large, diverse institutions using Vivo, a semantic web application focused on discovering researchers and research publications in the life sciences. Using a built-in, editable ontology for describing things such as People, Courses, and Publications, data is transformed into a Semantic-Web-compliant form. VIVO provides automated and self-updating processes for improving data quality and authenticity. The webinar will highlight services that leverage the Semantic Web platform in innovative ways, e.g., for finding researchers based on the text content of a particular Web page and for visualizing networks of collaboration across institutions. Additional information can be found at http://www.niso.org/news/events/2013/dcmi/vivo/. Registration for the webinar closes 22 May 2013 at 12:00PM Eastern (16:00 UTC).


Wednesday, May 08, 2013